top of page

Golf Rule Changes 2023

Golf Rule Question

September 2022 

Last month during our September 2022 6x6x6 tournament, Bruce Halgren's ball struck his playing partner Mark Howland. Is there a penalty as Mark was his partner in a two man team event?

USGA Rule 11 a. No penalty to player.

If your ball in motion accidently hits any person or outside influence, including you, any other player or any of your caddies or equipment, there is no penalty to any player.

Golf Rule Question

August 2022

What to Do When a Ball Is Lost or Out of Bounds. Example; using hole number 8.

How to play it: 

When a ball has been struck towards a penalty area and cannot be found,

a player may not assume that the ball is in the penalty area simply because there is a possibility that the ball may be in the penalty area.

In order to proceed under the relief option , it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the penalty area.

In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that the ball lies in the penalty area, the ball must be considered lost and the player must proceed under stroke and distance.

Golf Rule Question

June 8,2022

Q: Can a player wipe sand away from the green fringe if sand intervenes on the player’s line of putt.

A: No, by Definition sand is not a loose impediment.

Exception: Rule 13.1

Allows a player to do things on the putting green that are normally not allowed off the putting green, such as being allowed to remove sand.

bottom of page